From the Villa Malfatti through the VillaTaussig to Today (1830-2018)
The story begins in the 1830's when the Emperor's personal physician built a villa next to the summer palace in the charming village of Hietzing. Sixty five years later Sir Theodor von Taussig had it demolished and constructed an extraordinarily lavish 'castle' in its place. The relatively humble gate house of the Villa Malfatti was replaced by a grand ornamental gate with a porter's lodge on one side and an elaborate carriage house with stables, a coach house and a residence for the head coachman on the other. Beginning in 2013 the carriage house was renovated from top to bottom and is now The Coachman's Residence.